Can a Super Visa be refused over insurance? Common mistakes
Yes, a Super Visa can be refused if the insurance does not meet IRCC's rules. Common mistakes include coverage below $100,000, a term shorter than 365 days, a non-Canadian insurer, missing repatriation coverage, or a confirmation letter that fails to state these details clearly. Each is avoidable with careful checking.
Key takeaways
- Insurance that does not meet IRCC's rules can cause a Super Visa refusal.
- Coverage below $100,000 or a term under 365 days is an automatic problem.
- A non-Canadian insurer does not satisfy the requirement.
- The confirmation letter must clearly state amount, term and covered categories.
- Submitting a quote instead of proof of a real policy is a frequent error.
Yes, a Super Visa can be refused over insurance, and insurance problems are among the most frustrating reasons for a refusal precisely because they are so avoidable. Valid medical coverage is not a soft recommendation in the Super Visa program; it is a core requirement, and if the coverage falls short of IRCC’s rules or the confirmation letter does not clearly prove it, an officer has grounds to refuse. The good news is that every common mistake in this area is preventable with a careful read of the requirements and a line-by-line check of the policy and its confirmation letter before you submit.
Why insurance can sink an application
IRCC requires a Super Visa applicant to show proof of Canadian medical insurance that meets specific terms, because the visiting parent cannot use a provincial plan during a long stay. The officer treats this as a condition that must be satisfied. If it is not, the application can be refused on that basis regardless of how strong the rest of the file is. A family can meet the income test, write a perfect invitation letter, and complete the medical exam, and still be refused because the insurance did not meet the rules. That makes the insurance one of the highest-leverage parts of the application to get exactly right.
Mistake one: coverage below $100,000
The requirement is at least $100,000 in emergency medical coverage. Buying a policy with a lower limit, or misreading a plan’s limits, is a clear failure. Some applicants try to economize with a smaller amount, not realizing the figure is a hard floor. The fix is simple: ensure the coverage amount is $100,000 or more, and confirm the confirmation letter states it plainly. A higher amount such as $150,000 is fine and exceeds the rule, but never go below the minimum.
Mistake two: a term shorter than 365 days
The policy must be valid for a minimum of 365 days, and that term runs from the date of entry into Canada. A policy covering only six months, or a year that does not align with the entry date, does not meet the rule. This is one of the most common and most misunderstood errors, because applicants sometimes buy coverage for the length of stay they have in mind rather than the required full year from entry. Always buy a 365-day term and coordinate the start with the actual entry date.
Mistake three: a non-Canadian insurer
IRCC requires the coverage to be from a Canadian insurer. Arranging cheaper insurance from the parent’s home country, however comprehensive, does not satisfy the requirement. This trips up families who assume any adequate policy will do. The confirmation letter must make clear the coverage is from a Canadian insurer. If there is any doubt about the insurer’s origin, the officer may not accept it, so this is worth verifying explicitly.
Mistake four: missing repatriation or covered categories
The coverage must include healthcare, hospitalization and repatriation. A policy or letter that omits repatriation, or is silent on one of the required categories, leaves the officer unable to confirm the full requirement is met. Repatriation in particular is easy to overlook because applicants focus on the hospital coverage. Make sure the policy covers all three categories and that the confirmation letter confirms them, so there is no gap in what is demonstrated.
Mistake five: a quote instead of proof of coverage
IRCC wants evidence of an actual policy, not a price estimate. Submitting a quote, which only shows what coverage would cost, rather than a confirmation letter or proof of purchase showing a real policy with the required terms, is a frequent error. A quote does not prove coverage exists. Always submit the insurer’s confirmation of the actual policy, and confirm it reads as proof of coverage rather than a sales estimate.
Mistake six: a letter that does not state the details clearly
Even with a perfectly valid policy, a vague confirmation letter can cause problems. The letter must clearly name the insured parent or grandparent and state the coverage amount, the 365-day term from entry, the Canadian insurer, and the covered categories. An officer who cannot quickly verify these facts from the letter is left with uncertainty that works against the applicant. Read the letter as the officer would and make sure every required fact is explicit and accurate, with the insured’s name matching the passport and application.
Mistake seven: dates that drift out of alignment
Because processing times vary, the travel date can move after the policy and letter are issued. Since the coverage must be valid when the parent enters Canada and the 365-day term runs from entry, a start date that no longer matches the actual arrival can create a gap. Coordinate with the insurer if the timeline shifts, obtain an updated letter, and keep coverage aligned with the real entry date, including for the officer who may check at the border.
The bottom line
A Super Visa can indeed be refused over insurance, and the usual causes are coverage below $100,000, a term shorter than 365 days from entry, a non-Canadian insurer, missing repatriation or covered categories, a quote submitted instead of proof of a real policy, and a confirmation letter that does not state the details clearly. Every one is avoidable with careful checking before you submit. Buy coverage that meets all the rules, verify the letter line by line, and compare your options and see your price so an avoidable insurance mistake never costs your family an approval.
Ready to get covered?
See your price and buy in minutes — the same price as going direct, with real guidance behind it.
Buy your travel insurance
Enter your trip details once, on the secure checkout — the same price as going direct, with no extra steps here.
- 1 week abroad · age 45under $80 total
- 2 weeks abroad · age 65under $400 total
- 1 month abroad · age 55under $350 total
- 1 month visit · age 60under $230 total
- 3 months visit · age 65under $825 total
- 6 months visit · age 70under $2,200 total
- Parent age 60under $2,400 / yr
- Parent age 65under $2,900 / yr
- Parent age 70under $3,800 / yr
- 1 month · age 20under $350 total
- One semester · age 22under $1,350 total
- Full year · age 25under $4,000 total
⚠️ Buy before you leave — emergency medical can’t be purchased once your trip has started.
Continue to secure checkout →Prefer we email you a reminder to finish later?
- = Same price as direct
- 🏅 Underwritten by an insurer protecting travellers since 1964
- ✓ No obligation
Frequently asked questions
Can a Super Visa really be refused because of insurance?
Yes. Valid medical insurance is a core requirement, so if the coverage falls short of IRCC's rules or the confirmation letter does not prove it, the officer cannot approve the file on that ground. Insurance problems are among the avoidable reasons applications are refused.
What are the most common insurance mistakes?
Buying coverage below $100,000, a term shorter than 365 days from entry, a policy from a non-Canadian insurer, missing repatriation coverage, submitting a quote instead of proof of a real policy, and a confirmation letter that does not clearly state the amount, term and covered categories.
How do I avoid an insurance-related refusal?
Buy coverage of at least $100,000 for 365 days from entry from a Canadian insurer covering healthcare, hospitalization and repatriation, then check the confirmation letter states all of this clearly and names the insured parent. Use a real confirmation letter, not a quote, and keep dates aligned with entry.
TripCovered is a licensed insurance referral service operating in Ontario. Insurance is administered by North American Air Travel Insurance Agents Ltd., doing business as TuGo®, a licensed insurance broker in all provinces and territories. The issuer of the contract is Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc. and Industrial Alliance Pacific General Insurance Corporation. Coverage is subject to the terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions of the policy. This website provides general information only and is not a contract of insurance. Always read your policy wording before you travel.